Amazing Grace by Kim Nash





Genre: Women’s Fiction


Publisher: Hera


Pub Date: 10th April 2019


Review Date: 3rd June 2021

Blurb

She’s taking her life back , one step at a time…


Grace thought she had it all. Living in the beautiful village of Little Ollington, along with head teacher husband Mark and gorgeous son, Archie, she devoted herself to being the perfect mum and the perfect wife, her little family giving her everything she ever wanted. Until that fateful day when she walked in on Mark kissing his secretary - and her perfect life fell apart.

Now she's a single mum to Archie, trying to find her way in life and keep things together for his sake. Saturday nights consist of a Chinese takeaway eaten in front of the TV clad in greying pyjamas, and she can’t remember the last time she had a kiss from anyone aside from her dog, Becks…


Grace’s life needs a shake up – fast. So when gorgeous gardener Vinnie turns up on her doorstep, his twinkling eyes suggesting that he might be interested in more than just her conifers, she might just have found the answer to her prayers. But as Grace falls deeper for Vinnie, ten-year-old Archie fears that his mum finding love means she’ll never reconcile with the dad he loves.


So when ex-husband Mark begs her for another chance, telling her he’s changed from the man that broke her heart, Grace finds herself with an impossible dilemma. Should she take back Mark and reunite the family that Archie loves? Or risk it all for a new chance of happiness?


My Review

Oh my goodness this book had me blubbing before I’d even got to the end of the dedications page, where the author dedicates the book to her mum with ‘if I’m half the mum you were, then I’m doing something right’. With my own mum named Grace, it set me right off, I can tell you!


Written in focalised third-person, although Amazing Grace is both heartwarming and laugh-out-loud funny, it also delves into some poignant and heartbreaking themes. Single mum to ten-year-old Archie, Grace is coming to terms with the break-up from her cheating husband. Archie is a great character and the apple of Grace’s eye. Like any good mum, Grace puts Archie before herself – always. However, luckily Grace has a fantastic best mate in the shape of Monica, who is determined for Grace to put herself first for once and get her life back on track. The author has done an absolutely brilliant job in characterising Grace and it was easy to route for her. I totally loved this protagonist. She was so funny, it was just like a night out with your bestie. A real tonic during lockdown!


As Grace slowly gains back the confidence that her ex-husband stole from her, can she put her past firmly behind her? And can she turn her dream into a reality?


This romantic comedy has it all and I whizzed through the book in just a few sittings. I recommend this book for fans of Cathy Bramley, Jill Mansell, and Helga Jensen.




About the Author

Kim Nash is an author of uplifting, funny, heartwarming, feel-good, romantic fiction and has always wanted to write books since she was a little girl. Her latest book is Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove. She lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter rescue dog Roni, is Head of Publicity for publisher Bookouture (part of Hachette UK) and is a book blogger at www.kimthebookworm.co.uk. Kim won the Romantic Novelists Association's Media Star of the Year in 2016, which she still can't quite believe. She is now quite delighted to be a member of the RNA as an author. When she's not working or writing, and in non-Covid times, Kim can be found walking her dog at Cannock Chase, reading, writing, standing on the sidelines of a football pitch cheering on Ollie, and binge watching box sets on the TV. She's also quite partial to a spa day and a gin and tonic (not at the same time!) Kim also runs a book club in Cannock, Staffs and organises local and national reader/author events.


Amazing Grace was her debut novel which came out in April 2019. Escape to Giddywell Grange is Kim's second novel and was published in September 2019. Sunshine and Second Chances is Kim's third novel and was published in June 2020. Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove is her fourth book and was published in March 2021.

Connect with Kim on Social Media here:

Twitter: (@KimTheBookworm) https://twitter.com/KimTheBookworm

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KimTheBookWorm/

Instagram: @Kim_the_bookworm