Circle of Betrayal by Ruth O’Neill



Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publisher: PublishNation

Pub Date: 21st June 2021

Review Date: 27th June 2021

Blurb

Lena Farnham has it all: a job she loves, a wonderful husband, a huge house, and a baby about to arrive. She’s the happiest she’s ever been, and she can’t believe how lucky she is. Unfortunately, Lena’s luck is about to run out. Someone is following her, and not only that – they’re leaving frightening messages, and threatening her perfect life. Even worse? Her husband Sean doesn’t believe any of it. When the baby finally arrives, however, Lena’s follower is the least of her worries. Everything in her life is about to change, but why? What did she do to deserve this? And what isn’t Sean telling her? Lena embarks on a journey to uncover the lies, deceit, and betrayal from the one person she loves and trusts the most... her husband. Even the most perfect people can have dark pasts – and even darker secrets.


My Review

Circle of Betrayal is a twisty domestic thriller where Lena’s perfect life is about to spiral out of control.


Lena is a secondary school teacher who is about to go off on maternity leave with her first child. But as she looks forward to taking some time off work, an incident at the school turns what should be one of the happiest moments of her life into a stress-fest. And to top it all, when she turns to her perfect husband for support, it appears he doesn’t believe her.


Lena is a relatable character, and it is easy to empathise with her, but it is the author’s choice of narrative structure that propels the story forward. Littered with red herrings, the novel is structured around chapters with alternating first-person perspectives: mostly Lena and her husband, Sean; but also a few other key characters. This adds dramatic irony, and I found myself whizzing through the book to find out what was going to happen.


I recommend this book for fans of AA Abbot, Jo Ullah, and Louise Jensen.


About the Author


Ruth O’Neill grew up in the ancient Roman city of Bath England, a beautiful peaceful city whose locations are often referred to in her first book ‘Sunshine & Tears’. Ruth has always enjoyed helping others and is very committed to her job as a Teaching Assistant where she supports young people with Special Educational Needs & Disabilities. Ruth enjoys hula-hooping, reading, holiday’s abroad, and spending precious time with her three grandchildren... oh and wine.


Thank you to the author for an Advance Review Copy of this book.