The Art of Loving You by Amelia Henley




Genre: Contemporary Fiction


Publisher: HQ


Pub Date: 22nd July 2021


Review Date: 24th June 2021

Blurb

They were so in love . . .

And then life changed forever . . .

Will they find happiness again?


Libby and Jack are the happiest they’ve ever been. Thanks to their dear friend, eighty-year-old Sid, they’ve just bought their first house together, and it’s the beginning of the life they’ve always dreamed of.


But the universe has other plans for Libby and Jack and a devastating twist of fate shatters their world.


All of a sudden life is looking very different, and unlikely though it seems, might Sid be the one person who can help Libby and Jack move forward when what they loved the most has been lost?


My Review

The Art of Loving You is a love story but not as you know it! I’m reluctant to call it romance as the first plot twist shatters any hope of a future for Jack and Libby. Like Amelia Henley’s first novel, it’s more of a unique love story, where the author’s research into her subject matter is so in-depth, the novel feels as if it borders on science fiction – when in fact the neurological condition that Libby experiences, although rare, can happen.


Written in first-person from Libby’s perspective, the narrative has a linear structure. Diction is succinct whilst provoking vivid imagery – a difficult skill to master but Amelia Henley has captured this beautifully.


This is a well-written story that packs an emotional punch and will leave you breathless. A thoroughly enjoyable read, recommended for fans of Carol Mason, Emma Cooper, and Dani Atkins.


About the Author


Amelia Henley is a hopeless romantic who has a penchant for exploring the intricacies of relationships through writing heartbreaking, high-concept love stories. Her debut novel was The Life We Almost Had.


Amelia also writes psychological thrillers under her real name, Louise Jensen. As Louise Jensen she has sold over a million copies of her global number one bestsellers. Her stories have been translated into twenty-five languages and optioned for TV as well as featuring on the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestsellers list. Louise’s books have been nominated for multiple awards. The Art of Loving You is her second book.



Thank you to the author, publisher, and NetGalley for an Advance Review Copy of this book.