The Lies We Tell by Jane Corry

Updated: May 27




Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publisher: Penguin

Pub Date: 24th June 2021

Review Date: 25th May 2021

Blurb

Sarah always thought of herself and her husband, Tom, as good people. But that was before their son Freddy came home saying he'd done something terrible. Begging them not to tell the police. Soon Sarah and Tom must find out just how far they are willing to push themselves, and their marriage, to protect their only child . . . As the lies build up and Sarah is presented with the perfect opportunity to get Freddy off the hook, she is faced with a terrifying decision . . . Save her son . . . or save herself?

My Review

The Lies We Tell by Jane Corry is a twisty domestic thriller with a skillfully plotted timeline that switches between the first-person narratives of Sarah and her husband, Tom. Part Two is solely from Sarah’s perspective.


From the beginning it seems not only does Sarah have a much closer bond with their son, Freddie, than Tom does, but the couple’s relationship is under considerable strain. However, as the story’s anachronic structure flits back in time, it is evident things haven’t always been that way, and Sarah and Tom were once very different people to who they are now.


In the present, Freddie comes home one night and reveals he has killed somebody. Tom is adamant Freddie should hand himself in, but it is clear Sarah doesn’t agree and will do anything to protect her son. As secrets and lies of the past merge with lies and secrets of the present, Sarah’s actions are put under the spotlight. Not only does this question what we would do ourselves to protect those we love, but as time goes by whether that decision was right or not. Just how guilty is Freddie? Just how guilty is Sarah? And is Tom really the decent and innocent man he appears to be? With so much baggage, will Sarah ever be able to escape from her past?


This was yet another heart-pounding roller-coaster of a read from one of my favourite authors. But typical of Jane Corry, the story is also an uplifting one - even psychological thrillers can have that happy ever after - eventually. Although with all the twists and turns this novel has to offer it might just be something completely different to what you think!


I recommend this book for fans of Nikki Smith, Lisa Hall, and Elizabeth Hill.



About the Author


Jane Corry is a writer and journalist (Daily Telegraph and women's magazines) who worked for three years as the writer in residence of a high-security male prison. This experience helped inspire her Sunday Times Penguin bestsellers 'My Husband's Wife', 'Blood Sisters', 'The Dead Ex', 'I Looked Away' and 'I Made A Mistake'. She has now sold over a million copies of her books worldwide. Jane also writes short stories as well as a weekly digital column about being a granny for My Weekly. As well as this, she speaks at literary festivals all over the world. Many of her ideas strike during morning dog-jogs along the beach followed by a dip in the sea - no matter how cold it is!


Thank you to the author and publisher for an Advance Review Copy of this book.