The Medium of Branden Bay by Kelly Mason


Genre: Paranormal Cozy Mystery

Publisher: Little Orchard Press

Pub Date: 27th July 2021

Review Date: 4th July 2021

Blurb

Becky - the medium who is petrified of ghosts!

Becky moves to Branden Bay, leaving a fast paced life in London behind her.

She's soon disturbed by shadows which lurk in her house. She's inherited more than her grandma's house and a sassy cat. She's been given the so-called gift for seeing the dead.

But the only gift Becky wants is one that comes with fancy wrapping and a bow.

To rid herself of the ghosts that haunt her, she must unravel a cold case mystery. Is she able to overcome her fears to find the truth?


My Review

Oh my goodness, I can’t tell you how much I loved this paranormal cozy mystery. The story is narrated from the first-person perspective of Becky James, an ex-high-flying millennial who ditches her Thameside apartment when she inherits her grandmother’s home (and cat) in the sleepy seaside town of Branden Bay. But Becky soon discovers that’s not all she’s inherited when she discovers her newfound gift for seeing the dead. As Becky comes to terms with her ability to communicate with ghosts, she is forced to solve a spine-tingling mystery from the past.


Not only is Becky a fabulous character who jumps of the page, there is a wonderful sense of place, and Branden Bay is like a character in itself. Although the abundance of cream teas – and not to mention the delightful Constance the cat – set this firmly within the cozy mystery genre; fantastic plotting and rollercoaster twists and turns, means this cozy will give even the bestselling psychological thriller a run for its money.


The Medium of Branden Bay now sits right at the top of my favourites shelf for 2021, and I am so happy to learn there is a whole series available for pre-order

I recommend this book for fans of Stella Berry, Joanne Fluke, and M C Beaton.



Thank you to the author and publisher for an Advance Review Copy of this book.















About the Author


As a child Kelly Mason was obsessed with Scooby-Doo, she progressed to reading Edit Blyton, with her favourite series being, The Famous Five. As an adult, she loves Agatha Christie especially her Miss Marple books and M C Beaton's Agatha Raisin series. Kelly normally writes romance under a pen name but is now turning her hand to the genre she adores - Cosy Mystery. Her writing is inspired by the seaside town she lives in, situated on the South West coast of England, and her three sassy cats all of which were strays before she made the old age mistake of naming them and letting them in the back door!