The Whole Truth by Cara Hunter





Genre: Crime Thriller


Publisher: Penguin Random House


Pub Date: 29th April 2021


Review Date: 19th May 2021


Blurb

An attractive student.

An older professor.

Think you know the story?

Think again.

She has everything at stake;

he has everything to lose.

But one of them is lying, all the same. When an Oxford student accuses one of the university's professors of sexual assault, DI Adam Fawley's team think they've heard it all before. But they couldn't be more wrong. Because this time, the predator is a woman and the shining star of the department, and the student a six-foot male rugby player. Soon DI Fawley and his team are up against the clock to figure out the truth. What they don't realise is that someone is watching. And they have a plan to put Fawley out of action for good...


My Review


The Whole Truth by Cara Hunter is a chilling police procedural thriller and is the fifth in the DI Adam Fawley series. The novel has a main plotline with an intriguing case to solve (see blurb), with DI Fawley’s personal life running as the sub-plot. I say sub-plot, but being a huge fan of this author and other books in this series, what was happening to Fawley and the injustice he was up against, had me totally hooked!


Like other books in the series, the novel is structured around the first-person narrative of DI Fawley, and third-person narratives for scenes where he isn’t present. There is also an epistolary element to the book, where police interviews, podcasts, and emails build towards solving both cases: the main storyline – and the predicament that DI Fawley is facing. I won’t spoil what that is, but fans of other books in this series will be tearing their hair out. Noooo this can’t be happening!

The novel is standalone and you don’t need to read the other books in the series – although I totally recommend that you do! One of the many things I liked about this book was the ‘Fawley Files’ placed at the beginning, that give an insight into the other detectives in Fawley’s team. The Whole Truth has quite a complex storyline with several characters, so knowing who they all are is really helpful.


Another thing I liked was the short but action packed scenes, which made the book a real page turner. At over 400 pages it’s quite a hefty book but I absolutely whizzed through it! Cara Hunter’s writing-style is completely addictive, and the plot-line is like it’s happening for real and you’re watching it on the news. I was absolutely thrilled to learn DI Fawley will be coming to our television screens. I can’t wait to find out who’s going to play him – can you?


I would recommend this book for fans of Ruth Rendell, A A Abbott, and Jane Harper.

About the Author


Cara Hunter is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling crime novels Close to Home, In the Dark, No Way Out and All the Rage, all featuring DI Adam Fawley and his Oxford-based police team. Close to Home was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and was shortlisted for Crime Book of the Year in the British Book Awards 2019. No Way Out was selected by the Sunday Times as one of the 100 best crime novels since 1945. Cara's novels have sold more than a million copies worldwide, and the TV rights to the series have now been acquired by the Fremantle group. She lives in Oxford, on a street not unlike those featured in her books.


Thank you to the author, and publisher, for an Advance Review Copy of this book.